Black Dog House

37 Front Street

Westgate

Co Durham

Tel: 07799 643699

Black

Dog

House

BDH 1 3st_Self_Catering copy Gold Award (Sticker Sign) (2) All 4 Scheme Logos P1000569

Guest Reviews

 

Fatange Durham - Review submitted: 15 December 2013   Date of stay: December 2013

Second weekend stay here for our group ( friends who work together). We loved it so much in July, we couldn't wait to get back for Christmas. The house is cosy and comfortable, and can easily sleep 11adults if 3 of them don't mind inflatable beds. It is clean and warm, and the poem log fire in the sitting room is wonderful. There is a log burner in the dining room too. The owner has thoughtfully provided anything you could wish for...loads of books, Dvds and games, telescope, iPod Dock with speakers etc. He even left out a Christmas tree for us to decorate! We thought we had a problem with hot water and both he and his housekeeper were on hand immediately to sort it out. Turns out we were being a bit thick and it was fine...the poor man was lovely, even though we had wasted a good chunk of his Saturday. The Hare and Hounds pub across the road is wonderful. Everyone is very friendly and the food is delicious. The area is stunningly beautiful and there are some wonderful walks. We had a great trip out to Stanhope, which has some quirky and original shops. Anyway, to summarise, Black Dog House is a wonderful place to stay for a large group of people. We will be back again in the summer so that we can enjoy a barbecue on the patio...a fabulous sun trap. Highly recommended!!

 

***

Return trip even better than the last! - Review submitted: December 2013 Date of stay: December 2013

Arrived on Friday 13th..oooer! However, far from being jinxed, we had a truly fabulous weekend. Martin and Donna were brilliant and so very helpful. Once we worked out the central heating (must have had our stupid heads on), lashings of lovely hot water for all. Toasty warm with heating and log fire...and so cosy. Felt really Christmassy, especially as they had left out a tree for us to decorate. Beds so comfortable...the sleigh bed in particular received rave reviews! Massive fridge to hold all of our food ( and drink!) had great trip out to Stanhope for last minute gifts...great for shopping as full of quirky and original shops. Hare and hounds pub, literally 10 seconds walk from front door, continues to serve the most delicious food in Christendom ....try the sticky toffee pudding! Everyone at the pub is really friendly...they even let us have a cup of sugar as we'd forgotten to bring any! Lovely, cosy, traditional pub with its own brewery...what more could you ask for. Anyway, we would not hesitate to give this place a massive thumbs up, and will be returning ourselves very soon. Get yourselves booked in...you don't know what you're missing!

 

***

 

Briliant! - Review submitted: 5 July 2013 Date of stay: July 2013

Had a fabulous weekend. House was lovely with ample space for 10 adults. Comfy beds, well equipped with everything you could possibly need and a fab little sun trap round the back for a bbq. There is already talk of booking again! Oh, and the Hare and Hounds does delicious meals. Loved every minute. Thank you!

 

***

Black Dog House - Review submitted 15 January 2013 Date of stay: 29 December 2012

What a wonderful time myself and family had at the black dog house. what a lovely property in a lovely scenic surroundings. We wanted for nothing, everything was plentiful ie. washing machine, drier, dishwasher, every piece of crockery cutlery and cooking utensils you would ever need. there was a local pub over the road and a small co op in the village. There was lots of nice walking to be done. We visited High Force which was a lovely scenic ride out, only 9.5 miles away. The house was nice and warm at all times, there was an open log fire and a log burner, everything yet again was provided. Our stay was perfect thanks to the owner and housekeeper and would recommend it to anyone.

 

***

Home from home - Review submitted 18 August 2012 Date of stay: 4 August 2012

Black Dog House did not disappoint in any way. It was clean, very comfortable and a proper "home from home", well-equipped with loads of crockery etc. We arrived to a cheerful welcome from Donna, who explained everything to us, and our grandchildren loved the attic room to play in when it was wet (only 1 day!). BDH is ideally situated in the village for walking up into Slit Wood, and the historic lead mining remains in Middlehope Valley, and also the riverside walk just across the road. The position close to the pub, serving home-brewed ale and excellent food, as well as the proximity of a children's playground all add up to make Black Dog House a favourite with our family and we fully intend to return in the near future; three branches of our family called on us at BDH, and all agreed that it was a great cottage.

 

***

Westgate Cottage rental - Review submitted 21 August 2012 Date of stay: 29 July 2012

the holiday cottage is fantastic, it is very large and roomy, a lovely large dining room with a wood burner, a very comfy lounge with an open fire, a fitted kitchen with all the mod cons you could hope for. upstairs there are 3 bedrooms, 2 double and i1 twin, 1 of the large doubles is ensuite with a fantastic shower, the other very large double has a huge bed in it, there is a second bathroom on this floor with a bath and overhead shower, there is a further very large bedroom on the 3rd floor, this has 1 double bed and also if needed other beds can be placed in this room. I would highly recommend this cottage, we had an unforgetable week here, the cottage is a veritable tardis and must be seen to appreciate it. There is a lovely pub across the road that does the most delicious food, and just down the street is a local co.op. the villages around westgate are lovely especially stanhope

 

***

Great cottage, great location - Review submitted: 19 June 2012 Date of stay: 2 June 2012

We (being two families with 3 small children, and a dog) stayed in this lovely cottage earlier this month. We found the cottage easily big enough for us all, and the location is great for walks on your doorstep, or driving to durham for a day out. There were loads of nice touches to welcome us, and given the weather in June this year, we got to use the wood stove and open fire. Would happily stay here again.

 

***

Easter at Black dog house - Review submitted: 23 April 2012 Date of stay: 2 April 2012

We had a very warm and comfortable stay at the house over Easter. Eight of us ,plus dog, were easily accomodated and the children liked having the top room to themselves. The house was clean and tidy, and we were met by the very helpful cleaner, who showed us where everything was. There's plenty of walks from the house, although dogs must be kept on the lead with all the spring lambs. The pub opposite does a very good Sunday carvery and could easily seat us all. Overall an enjoyable weekend with all creature comforts provided for.

 

***

 

A cosy retreat in winter - Review submitted: 15 March 2012 Date of stay: 2 February 2012

Had a very pleasant stay in February 2012 at Black Dog House. The house easily catered for a group of 4 adults and 3 children and we had some friends over to stay which upped the household to 6 adults and 5 children! Even then it didn't feel too cramped. The attic room is a god send for that. We had some snow during our visit, which made for the most picturesque of settings and generally added to the whole Pennines experience. We'd definitely consider staying again.

 

***

 

A wonderful New Year's stay!! - Review submitted: 6 January 2012 Date of stay 27 December 2011

What a fantastic cottage Black Dog house is, the photos do not do it justice. We had a wonderful time staying for a week over the New Year period. The weather wasn't good and we couldn't get out much but as the cottage was so spacious our young children had plenty of room to play (they especially liked Hide and Seek). The owner and housekeeper were very friendly and helpful with any queries we had. The pub opposite was very welcoming and the Sunday Carvery is one of the best we have ever tasted. The area around the cottage is stunning and there are lots of lovely walks. (weather permitting)   We would definitely recommend this cottage to families/large group of friends, and would love to stay there again.

 

***

 

An excellent base for Weardale and Northumbria - Review submitted: 2 July 2011 Date of stay: 18 June 2011

My party of 4 had a great time in Weardale and out and about the stunning countryside. All was made better due to the high quality of our accommodation at Black Dog House. Our reception, by Donna, was warm and welcoming. She showed us around the magnificent rooms and gave us many tips for scenic touring and local eateries. We found Black Dog House met all our needs, and importantly, we were able to get great nights sleep in the comfortable beds. We had thought in advance that the adjacent pub may cause noise to our night time comfort; not at all. A very nice home cooked meal served their. We met Maria who cleans the accommodation and receives the keys. She was very pleasant and informative about places to visit. The stairs to first floor are a little steep; nevertheless our elderly parents managed them well. Black Dog House was very clean and had all the amenities needed for an enjoyable holiday. We highly recommend it and will stay again in the future. Thank you to the owners.

Recommended for: Age 55+,  Adventure Seekers,  Tourists without a Car,  Sightseeing,  Families with Teenagers,  Families with Young Children,  Romantic Getaway

 

***

 

Marwain, Edinburgh - Review Submitted: May 8, 2011 Date of Stay: April 2011

GREAT HOUSE IN A WONDERFUL LOCATION. Great size house for accomdating two families and no surprises as the website shows you just what you are getting! Everywhere was very clean and well maintained and the owner and local key holder were always available to answer any queries. The house provided all the extras for rainy days and outdoor seating/BBQ for the sunny ones! Delightful village location with a lovely pub which served great food just over the road. It is only a small village but it still had a local shop/post office and a basket ball/tennis court (they are also in the process of constructing a children's play ground). Beautiful part of the country to explore by foot, bike or car. For keen cyclists there are some very challenging hills and one local route is even included in the '100 Greatest Cycling Climbs' book! We would love to come back and would definitely recommend it to friends.

 

***

 

AJ Bristol - Review Submitted: October 29, 2010 Date of Stay: October 2010

Lovely property, really well done out. Plenty of room for many people to stay in a beautiful aea of the northeast. Great value for money.

Our stay was a reunion for old university friends, and we hope to do the same thing next year. Will definitely stay again. 

 

***

 

Anna London - Review Submitted: October 6, 2010 Date of Stay: October 2010

What an amazing house! Lovely and spacious, and wonderfully luxurious. Comfy beds, comfy sofas, roaring fires and above all, underfloor heating in the kitchen! Great having a pub opposite as well - it couldn't have been more convenient. We had a great time exploring the local area. The whole thing was a dream to organise - the owners were extremely friendly and helpful, making it a truly relaxing break.

 

***

 

M and D lincolnshire - Review Submitted: August 16, 2010 Date of Stay: July 2010

Great house and place to stay, very well equipped house everything we needed the owner had thought of everything, one of the best we have stayed in. We can recommend it .

 

***

 

metty NRW, Germany - Review Submitted: July 29, 2010 Date of Stay: June 2010 

Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB) is not just a title. Already when we arrived there, it was so amazing what we saw. The outward appearance of the house was great and fitted well into the surroundings. Westgate was a small town and a car is nessessary to do your shopping. But all the small towns around are quite nice and the nature, finally the sheeps. ;-)

The house was furnished basically with everything you need and suited our needs well. Even though there are no extravagant furnitures, it was all right. After all I have to say that we have been supported well by the landlords. They answered all the questions immediately and made our stay as comfortable as possible. Even the administratory things were handled very pragmatically. Great job!

I would really love to come for another visit. We had only 10 days and there is still more to see.

 

***

 

Ben Oxford - Review Submitted: June 30, 2010 Date of Stay: June 2010 Superbly renovated house that has great style and is very well furnished. Great place to escape to - very relaxing - and local area is stunning. Lovely walks and endless spectacular landscapes. A good find. Highly recommended. 

 

***

beezer Harrogate, North Yorkshire - Review Submitted: June 20, 2010 Date of Stay: May 2010 

We had an excellent long weekend at Black Dog House. Two families (4 adults and 4 children) stayed in comfort in a really welcoming home which was very well equipped and was in the most perfect surroundings. There was plenty to do and see locally and within a short drive. The owners were extremely accommodating and flexible and seemed to have thought of everything - customer service was excellent. Everything was as described in the listing and the property was clean and well maintained.

We would certainly book to stay there again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Black Dog House to our friends.

 

***